“Too dangerous?? Nah, that’s what training is for!”

Football is real, exciting, and dangerous! I think that’s what I love so much about it. I currently hold a graduate assistant position in the football department at Georgia State University. We have an up and coming program, a new head coach was recently named, and so much progress has already been made. I have grown to love the sport even more since I’ve been around the coaches and players every day.

gsu football panthertalk

On Sunday I, and millions of other Americans, tuned into CBS for the Superbowl where the San Francisco 49ers and Baltimore Ravens battled it out for ult

imate glory. Not only do we tune in to watch the teams play, but also to catch all the hyped-up commercials and halftime performance. In my opinion, a commercial that stood out is portrayed below:

I enjoyed how the NFL displayed history in the making and how far we have come over the years in reference to performance improvements, uniform and helmet improvements, and simply how the game has evolved.

A recent Washington Post blog by Ezra Klein got me thinking about why guys choose to play football. Klein’s post was a response to the NFL ad displayed above that was played during the Superbowl this past Sunday. Basically, Klein believes the video depicted how football has gotten “worse” over the last 100 years.

I was eager to know if the danger aspect was of any concern to players – and so I asked. Of the fifty-something GSU players I have in my phone book, I asked fifteen of them two simple questions: “Is football too dangerous?” And, “Why do you play football?” The responses varied based on personality types, but overall most said the same thing. Some responses included:

There is some risk involved, but the benefits outweight the risks. The main reason I play is because of the life long relationships football creates with my teammates. Other reasons are because I like to be challenged physically and mentally.” -MD
gsu football ajc

I love football. I believe it’s the best team sport. It’s dangerous, but that’s why I love it. You also get to meet people you’ve looked up to your entire life. It teaches you discipline on and off the field and the little things prepare you for life overall. I do it for the love, it keeps me going.” -JM
gsu football georgiastatesports

Too dangerous? Nah, that’s what training is for! We prepare to hit and get hit. I played for fun in the past, but the reason I play today is to pay for school and to fulfill my dream of playing in the NFL.” -AW

gsu football

When you’re out on the field, you don’t really think about how dangerous it is. I love it. It’s what I do. I just plain out love it.” -AM

The Love of the Game

I believe that many players, college and professional, would agree with what these guys had to say. Hundreds of people commented on Klein’s post. Many agreed and many disagreed. There are players who have been severely hurt from playing. I would like to know if knowing what was going to happen prior to, would they have stopped playing? I don’t know the answer. One thing I think we can agree on is many professional athletes who have trained their entire lives to “go pro” play because it’s what they love to do.

~ by laurenjmsw on February 9, 2013.

2 Responses to ““Too dangerous?? Nah, that’s what training is for!””

  1. Is it truly more dangerous now? It is hard to accurately know, technology can measure injuries better now, but we have also made great strides in protective gear, and have modified the rules. I agree that in most player there is a degree of ” love of the game” that propels them put their pads on. Any one who has ever seen a little boy all suited up and excited to play – can see the pure joy they have. When I read your post my mind went to the Brad Paisley song, “if he is anything like me” there is a line that goes – Won’t he be a sight with his football helmet on
    That’ll be his first love til’ his first love comes along.

  2. What a great approach to this question. Good job.

Leave a Reply

 
Stavely Black

Old design in a New world

Natalia Maks

Travel. See. Shoot. Learn.

Fascination

by Elle Santos

Wonderful Cinema

Short reviews on high quality films. No spoilers.

mixolydianblog

music is life, music is breath, music is us

My Blogs

An amalgamation of simple thoughts and ideas...

SEO Optimization Articles

SEO optimizaton atricles - your guide to the SEO world. Catch fresh and unique SEO content and use them in your SEO strategy

brandeelah

A fine WordPress.com site

Kiarra Leshay

One Blog at a Time

motleystories

In life-all our stories connect

